How Long is a Piece of Rope: Sean Patrick Bridges

Roll of the Die is available for Kindle from Amazon worldwide for $4.99

and Amazon UK for £3.49

Sean Patrick Bridges

ROLL OF THE DIE is my first novel, although I’ve been a writer for fourteen years. I have ten completed screenplays, a pair of documentaries, an animated teaser and a graphic novel in the works.

I was a 2001 Finalist and 2004 Semi-Finalist for the prestigious Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Nicholl Fellowship. I’ve had a project invited to the 2005 Sundance Institute Producers Conference, and have placed in a variety of writing competitions, including the Austin Film Festival, PAGE International, FADE IN Awards, Cynosure Screenwriting and Scriptapalooza.

I recently produced and directed two documentary short subjects.  OUT OF MANY, about the struggles of a Learning Center in Kingston, Jamaica.  20/20 VISION, about the construction of an International Financial Center in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

I’m currently working on my second novel, ON THE BAYOU. An action-thriller in the swamps of Louisiana.

So what does Sean have to say on today’s most pressing topics?

1. ROLL OF THE DIE is way better than a lot of boilerplate, paint by numbers thrillers out there, but one day I’d really like to be as good as Elmore Leonard, but I’ve got a long road to come even close to him.

2. You will just love my book if you enjoyed Reservoir Dogs, but if you’re a fan of Hanna Montana steer well clear

3. Success comes from the barrel of a gun

4. How do you see the role of food in the contemporary thriller and where does ROLL fit into the spectrum?

Appetites and taste round out a person, so their choice of restaurant, maybe a 4 star velvet rope restaurant, or a hole in the wall diner.  Where you eat and what you choose say a lot about the characters you create.  My favorite use of food in a thriller, LAMB TO THE SLAUGHTER, hands down.  Philly cheesesteaks play a part in my novel, as does the Last Supper.

5. How would it affect the direction ROLL takes if the action were moved wholesale to the set of Glee in chapter 7?

Chapter Seven of my novel is titled, YELLOW MAN.  One of the contestants in Triple Six.  He’s a drug addict and a murderer, and the chapter takes place in Brooklyn, New York.  Either of those character traits and location might spice up that episode of Glee, it would be the first time I could sit through the whole show.

6. When you’re writing, would you rather look out at the sea, or in at your thoughts?

I have to look into my thoughts, keeps the distractions to a minimum.  But looking out at the sea with my Border Collie by my side would be the perfect way to celebrate finishing a draft.

7. When writing, do you start at the beginning and keep going, or start at the end and work back?

Start at the beginning.  I’ll jot notes down as I move forward, and you always go back through the rewrite process, but every step I take gets me closer to my final destination.  Never look back when you’re on the march.  There’s always time to retrace your steps.

8. A great villain or a great hero?

Yin and Yang, you need one to have a successful other.

9. ROLL OF THE DIE will change the way a reader looks at Russian Roulette and Game Shows (and Las Vegas).

10. How long is a piece of rope?

It’s about this long.  But I’ve heard the arguments, and I know it should be this long.  So I’ll split the difference, and say, this long.

~ by danholloway on June 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
