How Long is a Piece of Rope: Julie Morrigan

Convictions by Julie Morrigan is available for Kindle UK for 70p

and US for $0.99

Gone Bad is available for 70p in the UK

and $0.99 in the US

About Convictions

An abducted child.
A family destroyed by grief and guilt.
A man of God.

When 12-year-old Tina Snowdon and her little sister Annie gratefully accept a lift from a helpful stranger, she has no way of knowing that only one of them will make it home.

As Tina’s life is torn apart by pain and recrimination, the only evidence the police have points to George Cotter, a pillar of the local church. But as the investigation continues, it seems that perhaps a deeper and more disturbing truth may lie behind little Annie’s abduction …

‘Convictions’ is the first novel by Julie Morrigan, the critically-acclaimed author of short story collection ‘Gone Bad’.

Praise for ‘Convictions’:

Tina as the troubled surviving sister is an amazing character, full of charm, vulnerability and strength in turn. The book feels in some way like an update of Ordinary People, crossed with a wonderful police procedural/mystery.
Josh Stallings

‘Convictions’ by Julie Morrigan is a pulse-pounding thriller with its feet on the ground and its big heart peeking out from under its ragged, bloody sleeve.
Paul D. Brazill

About Julie

Julie Lewthwaite lives by the seaside in the north east of England with her partner, Steven Miscandlon. They are both freelance writers. Julie’s stories have appeared at such places as Darkest Before the Dawn; Thrillers, Killers and Chillers; A Twist of Noir, and Out of the Gutter. She recently self-published (as Julie Morrigan) Gone Bad, a collection of short stories, and her debut novel ‘Convictions’, both as e-books.

She has a story blog at: http://gonebadonlinestories.blogspot.com/
A freelance writing website at: http://mlwritingservices.weebly.com/index.html
And an author site at: http://juliemorrigan.weebly.com/index.html

And what does Julie have to say on the questions that count?

1. CONVICTIONS is way better than stepping barefoot in cat puke but one day I’d really like to be as good as Domino’s pizza.

2. You will just love my book if you enjoyed Gone Bad but if you’re a fan of the Bible steer well clear.

3. Water comes from the barrel of a gun.

4. How do you see the role of food in the contemporary thriller and where does CONVICTIONS fit into the spectrum?

Food – specifically snack food – is essential for keeping readers going so they can get to the end of a book before they have to cook a proper meal. Convictions is a short-ish novel, so should be cheaper to read.

5. How would it affect the direction CONVICTIONS takes if the action were moved wholesale to the set of Glee in chapter 7?

Other than the odd trailer I’ve never seen Glee, which suits me just fine. I was highly amused when G’n’R refused to let them perform ‘Sweet Child of Mine’. I suspect if CONVICTIONS moved to Glee, the body count would be much, much higher. At the very least, there’d be some perky, annoying American kids with fat lips and black eyes.

6. When you’re writing, would you rather look out at the sea, or in at your thoughts?

I’d always rather look out at the sea, which is handy, because that’s the view from my front window. Agatha Christie reckoned she got her best ideas when washing up, and I often solve problems or get ideas for stories when I’m doing mundane chores. ‘Let’s Dance’ in the Gone Bad collection was worked out while I was painting a ceiling, and the solution to a plot problem I had with ‘Convictions’ suggested itself while I was preparing lunch one day. Ironing can be productive in that regard too, which is great, because I hate ironing and at least that way there’s a pay-off for making the effort. (That and a pile of shirts that look like they’ve been molested by a monkey with a hot rock.)

7. When writing, do you start at the beginning and keep going, or start at the end and work back?

I learned a valuable lesson when I attempted to write my first novel. (I was seven and it featured many ponies.) My approach then was to write the ‘good’ bits – in other words, the bits with the ponies in – after which I planned to go back and write the boring linky-up bits. It’s still unfinished.

What I try to do now is just get the story down first of all. Once I have a first draft, no matter how rough and full of holes, I can see what works and what doesn’t, what stays, what goes and what needs to be added. For all I start at the beginning, that might not be the beginning of the finished story. But I need that first draft to really get stuck in.

8. A great villain or a great hero?

I was going to say villain, because I do love a good villain, but on reflection, I think my overall preference is for a hero, although with one caveat – I like a flawed hero. Charlie Huston’s Joe Pitt, Josh Stallings’ Moses McGuire, they fit the bill perfectly. They’re human, they’ve got shit to deal with, they fuck things up, but somehow, eventually, they come good. For me, they’re a sight more believable than some chisel-jawed super-hero with a hard on for doing what’s ‘right’ all the time. (And yes, I know Joe Pitt is a vampire. Just don’t try to tell me he’s not real – I’ve read the books, I know he’s out there somewhere.)

9. CONVICTIONS will change the way a reader looks at Kit-Kats.

10. How long is a piece of rope?

Always fifteen feet too short to get someone escaping from peril by tying it to something on a high building safely to the ground.

~ by danholloway on June 7, 2011.

4 Responses to “How Long is a Piece of Rope: Julie Morrigan”

  1. Smashing, mental interview.

  2. Brilliant, Julie! Makes me want to read your book.

Leave a Reply

 
