How Long is a Piece of Rope: Ty Hutchinson

Chop Suey by Ty Hutchinson is available for Kindle from Amazon.com for $2.99

and in the UK for £2.08

Bio

My name is Ty Hutchinson and I’m from Hawaii. What does that mean? I don’t need to tan.

Most days I’m an Associate Creative Director and writer at Goodby, Silverstein & Partners. For you people not in the know, it’s an advertising agency. Yes, I’m fully aware that it sounds like a law firm and that’s why, depending on the situation, I’m also a lawyer.

If you visit, you’ll find me making an ad or looking at an ad or discussing an ad. Sometimes I’m in the 4th floor kitchen drinking coffee though. You can check out my portfolio if you want by visiting tyhutchinson.com

My work has appeared in all the major advertising award shows and reported on in publications like Advertising Age, Creativity, Communication Arts and Archive. Is this helpful in my life outside of advertising? No.

When I’m not solving client problems or building brands, you’ll find me traveling the world, playing video games, eating, reading, exploring SF’s Chinatown (to date I have six Shrimp Boy sightings) or hard at work writing thriller novels.

While advertising is a blast, I thought it would be fun to write a book. Guess what? It was. My first book, Chop Suey, is out now. It’s about Darby Stansfield, the first telecommunication consultant to the criminal world. It had my editor gasping, giggling and laughing so hard, she more than once choked on her drink. I hope you enjoy Darby as much as she did. I’m currently editing the second book in the series. Look for it to be out in the fall of 2011.

Aren’t you glad I didn’t refer to myself in the third person?

Blurb

When disgraced sales associate, Darby Stansfield, discovers he has six months to save his job, he does what any normal person would do. He freaks.

Desperate to resurrect his career at Teleco Wireless, he conjures up an international scheme filled with the promise of endless high-spending clients. It’s brilliant, it’s successful, and it involves doing business with organized crime.

But soon those closest to him find themselves caught up in his dangerous plan and one of these unknowingly has the power to destroy him. Darby must now make a tough decision––give up on the one good idea he ever had or risk it all.

This is the crazy life of Darby Stansfield, telecommunications consultant to the criminal underworld.

So, what does Ty have to say on the really burning issues?

1. Chop Suey is better than Chow Mein but one day I’d really like to be as good as Kung Pao Chicken. That’s hot stuff!. No really, if Chop Suey doesn’t get you snorting and clenching your cheeks, you might be dead. Consult your doctor.
2. You will love my book if you enjoyed the works of James Patterson and Janet Evanovich, even more so if they had a love child. A toothy grin that jumps out from behind doors. Also don’t even think of touching this book if you’re not a fan of touching yourself. You’ll go mad.
3 You know what comes from the barrel of a gun besides a bullet and some smoke? The word “ka-pow” comes from the barrel of a gun. It also comes from the end of a finger and a stick.
4. How do you see the role of food in the contemporary thriller and where does Chop Suey fit into the spectrum?
Oh? Are we done with the questions that require no thought? Personally, I see it as lacking. Which is the reason why I force my main character, Darby Stansfield, to eat one type of food religiously throughout the story. Can you guess what it is? It starts with “Chop” and ends with “Suey.”
5. How would it affect the direction Chop Suey takes if the action were moved wholesale to the set of Glee in chapter 7?
It wouldn’t have much affect. I wrote flexibility into the story. Instead of reading about a potato sack race at the company picnic, the reader would sing along to a song at the company picnic. Follow the bouncing ball.
6. When you’re writing, would you rather look out at the sea, or in at your thoughts?
Neither. I’m a people watcher or as the courts define it, voyeur.
7. When writing, do you start at the beginning and keep going, or start at the end and work back?
Always from the beginning. I might have an idea of how the story is going to end but I can’t see starting at the end, which if you think of it could be considered the beginning.
8. A great villain or a great hero?
I think they can be both. Why not cheer for the bad guy? Being nice is overrated. Women love bad boys. Men like their women naughty. The straight and narrow doesn’t allow you to explore the curves.
9. Chop Suey will change the way a reader looks at a thriller. It’ll leave you hungry for more a few hours later.
10. How long is a piece of rope?
No longer than it needs to be.
~ by danholloway on May 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
