How Long is a Piece of Rope: Mark Edwards and Louise Voss

On Amazon UK for 70p

On Amazon.com for $0.99

I have a strange relationship with this book. I love love love it – and its authors who are deeply lovely and deeply cool. On the other hand we’ve been playing tag in the charts now for about a fortnight (as I write this they are 11 positions above me at 169 to 180). Then again how could I possibly do anything but love anyone who mentions Banana Yoshimoto (ed’s note – my absolute favourite writer ever). So please, buy this lovely book by these lovely people.

Blurb:

KILLING CUPID is a fast-paced stalker thriller with more twists and turns than a bucketful of snakes. For fans of Nicci French, Sophie Hannah, Minette Walters or Ruth Rendell – KILLING CUPID is a novel about how there’s someone for everyone…no matter how crazy you are.–“Sharply written and funny” Lexi Revellian, bestselling author of REMIXAlex Parkinson is obsessed with his writing tutor, Siobhan. He will do anything to be with her. Like buying her designer lingerie with her own money. Like breaking into her house and reading her diary while she’s in the bath. Like threatening her ex-boyfriend and watching his love rival plummet from a rooftop. It’s not stalking. It’s love.But when Alex is finally scared off, Siobhan decides to take revenge. How dare he lose interest? As their lives unravel and the past closes in, Alex and Siobhan embark on a collision course that threatens to destroy both them and everyone around them.Filled with suspense and dark laughter, and with a unique twist at its conclusion, KILLING CUPID is written in alternating chapters, showing the male and female viewpoints.–“I hadn’t realised there were such great books out on Kindle. Yours is a lot better than many books I’ve been given through Amazon Vine… I was laughing out loud.” Debbie Blackburn, Amazon Vine/Amazon Top 500 Reviewer

–“Scary, compassionate, interesting… Very enjoyable.” Stephanie Zia, author of TEN GOOD REASONS TO LIE ABOUT YOUR AGE.

–“I’ve just finished reading this and really enjoyed it: it’s a stalker novel with a twist and an unexpected lightness of touch. You may think the plot will take a predictable course but it doesn’t. The creation of voice and the wit of the observations create immediacy and verve.” Lorna Fergusson, Author of THE CHASE.

Be warned: KILLING CUPID could put you off the opposite sex for life.

And now, the questions that matter
1. Killing Cupid is way better than Night of the Crabs by Guy N Smithbut one day I’d really like to be as good as Donna Tartt whose The Secret History is, IMHO, the best book ever. And I mean ever.2. You will just love my book if you enjoyed The Follower by Jason Starr (a massively under-rated crime writer whose The Follower is the only other funny/scary stalker novel I am aware of; I should point out that Killing Cupid was written before The Follower was published!) but if you’re a fan of Jeffrey Archer steer well clear as our writing is probably a bit too subtle and clever for you.3. Literary stardom comes from the barrel of a gun but only if you point it at the right person.

4. How do you see the role of food in the contemporary thriller and where does Killing Cupid fit into the spectrum? Food is neglected by most thriller writers, including me; my characters can go for days without eating or going to the toilet. They do, however, find it hard to go more than a few pages without smoking a cigarette (guiltily), downing a drink or having a sexual fantasy.

5. How would it affect the direction Killing Cupid takes if the action were moved wholesale to the set of Glee in chapter 7? Glee. Hmmm. I liked it when I started then quickly got bored. It peaked with the Madonna episode. If Killing Cupid were to merge with an episode of Glee, Alex would start to obsess over Sue Sylvester and start following her around, breaking into her apartment and stroking her collection of Adidas tracksuits, before she took revenge by making him dress up as a cheerleader and ‘pleasure’ her beneath the bleachers.

6. When you’re writing, would you rather look out at the sea, or in at your thoughts? I come from Hastings so grew up by the sea. During my most prolific writing period, I lived in a house that overlooked the English Channel. On a clear day, you could see all sorts of turds floating around. And France. I had the opportunity then to set up my desk to overlook the see while I wrote but chose instead to stare at a damp patch on the wall.

7. When writing, do you start at the beginning and keep going, or start at the end and work back? I never know how a book is going to end when I start it. That would be boring. If you can’t surprise yourself, how can you surprise the reader? I always start with a few key incidents in mind, and a premise, then work forward from there. Writing Killing Cupid was particularly interesting as there were two of us (me and my co-writer Louise Voss) not knowing how the book would end. Often we didn’t know what the other was going to write in the next chapter. It was exciting.

8. A great villain or a great hero? Oh, I love writing villains. Much more fun. In Killing Cupid, Alex and Siobhan switch between hero and villain, and I hope we have made them sympathetic even when they are behaving badly. In our next book, Catch Your Death, we have two overt villains: a creepy megalomaniacal scientist and a robotic hitman. I found these characters great fun to write in the same way actors always say they like playing villains. I think it’s because I am usually a nice guy and it gives me the chance to indulge my dark side. Mwahahaha!!

9. Killing Cupid will change the way a reader looks at the opposite sex.

10. How long is a piece of rope? Longer than Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto but shorter than Justin Cronin’s The Passage.

~ by danholloway on May 6, 2011.

7 Responses to “How Long is a Piece of Rope: Mark Edwards and Louise Voss”

  1. Thanks Dan! At the moment, you are 180 and we are 189! It’s so weird – we must be selling almost exactly the same amount, probably to roughly the same people. We climbed to 134 last night – for one glorious hour! – and then dropped again.

    Re Banana Yoshimoto. I loved Kitchen/Moonlight Shadow and NP but after that I think she lost it. Haruki Murakami is the best writer in the world. Well, him and Bret Easton Ellis. My heroes.

  2. Extraordinary, isn’t it. It’s like two heavyweights slugging it out in the 15th! Or something.
    Wow! I got to 151 yesterday – highest I’ve been is 135!

    It’s sad that so little of her recent work is available in translation. NP is my favourite book in the world (you should read Elfriede Jelinek’s The Piano Teacher if you haven’t). But for a body of work, yes, Murakami is unsurpassed and unsurpassable. I based my first novel, Songs from the Other Side of the Wall, loosely around Norwegian Wood (some very nice reviewers – ones I didn’t know, to boot) have said it’s better, but it’s not. And large chunks of The Man Who Painted Agnieszka’s Shoes are written in the spirit of After Dark

    Brett Easton Ellis – there’s someone who really lost it after a great start. The opening line of Less Than Zero has to be the most perfect sentence in the English language – it sums up in 10 words the whole of the late 20th century.

  3. People are afraid to merge on freeways in Los Angeles. Utter perfection.

    But American Psycho is also amazing; it’s so funny. I loved Glamorama too.

  4. No’s 157 and 161 now. It’s so bizarre!

  5. It’s odd, like our fates are intertwined like Highlander or something. Though I see you are now powering ahead. Which is good, because I’d like to think being here is a help!

    Totally agree about Amwrican Psycho – the Phil Collins and Huey Lewis speeches are gold. I went to see the film at the Odeon Leicester Square after filming One to Win (a low budget version of Going for Gold) – went with one of my fellow contestants and spent a very pleasant afternoon flirting!

  6. Watching you two ducking and diving in the charts is almost as entertaining as reading the books. Well, Killing Cupid, anyway. Haven’t had a chance to read yours yet, Dan.

    The role of food in the contemporary thriller? After Silence of the Lambs doing any food reference seems an up-hill struggle.

    But the choice of meal can say so much about a character. It’s the choice of drink that foils me, being almost teetotal. That’s where having a co-author comes in really handy.

  7. […] am featured on Dan Holloway’s superb blog […]

Leave a Reply

 
